maldhivian

…my pensieve

Changing default paper size of Microsoft Word 2010

with 8 comments

A mistake I always tend to do is define the paper size of my writings in Microsoft Word after finishing what I intended to write. I opt to change paper size when I see that the printed papers does not have the actual formatting I had in mind. Changing paper size after the finishing results in me doing touch ups makes again.

I ended up changing the default paper size of Microsoft Word to A4 thereby setting A4 paper size as my document size in all new documents that I would be creating.

Here’s how I did it.

1. In Microsoft Word, go to the ‘Page Layout’ tab.

2. Click ‘Size’ in ‘Page Setup’ group and click ‘More Paper Sizes…’

3. A page setup dialogue box would pop up. In the ‘Paper’ tab, select ‘A4′ under paper sizes (or any other paper size you want it be) and click ‘Set As Default’.


4. A message box would appear asking for confirmation of this change. Click ‘Yes’.

Done. Now in all new word documents, the default paper sizes would be as defined.

Written by maldhivian

June 12, 2011 at 4:59 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well, I’ve done exactly that, but when I go into a new document, the paper size still comes up as “Letter”. Am going to subscribe to your blog though, ‘cos I’m just learning Word 2010 and it sounds like your blog might be useful. Thanks.

    Sarah@childrencount

    January 14, 2012 at 4:41 pm

  2. i have the same problem, the default remains Letter even after following all of the above steps

    LxAlien

    October 20, 2012 at 1:10 pm

    • Thankkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkks dear thanksssssssssssssss

      Muhammad Arshad

      December 18, 2012 at 11:48 am

      • works for me the same way u told

        Muhammad Arshad

        December 18, 2012 at 11:49 am

  3. I have followed the instructions here and a new document does appear to have page size A4.

    However, when I open printer properties I find that the paper size is Letter. I can set it to A4 but if I then close and re-open printer properties, it is back to Letter.

    Now if I click Page Layout > Size to set the document page size to A4 – even though it was already set to A4 – printer properties shows that the page size is now A4. Great! But when it gets to printing page 2 it asks me to load Letter paper.

    I never, ever want Letter paper. How can I banish it to outer darkness permanently?

    Brian Maskell

    January 17, 2013 at 1:37 am

  4. I really like it. It worked for me now.
    thanks.
    I have set default paper size: letter!!!!

    Cristian

    March 29, 2013 at 3:08 pm

  5. Thanks Guys !! It really helped !!

    Manjit

    May 22, 2013 at 2:21 pm

  6. thanks guys.

    Pawan Harshwal

    September 16, 2013 at 9:41 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

